We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.


by Jazz Plus Ensemble

supported by
Charles Price
Charles Price thumbnail
Charles Price This album just oozes fun from beginning to end! Fantastic playing from everyone involved in the ensemble, and the arrangements and tunes are really tight and fresh. Favorite track: Esse Passaro Chamado Tempo.
lukebentley thumbnail
lukebentley It has been a pleasure to be featured on this album. Listening to the tracks brings back great memories of meeting up with my friends for a weekend in Brixton and playing these pieces for the first time. Chris Jones has done an incredible job with the arrangements and we have something really fresh and unique here. There are so many great grooves here to get your head moving, interspersed with some top class solos. Buy this album to experience the new age of jazz: Jazz Plus! Favorite track: Monkey Suit.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £10 GBP  or more


Monkey Suit 06:36
Catching Z's 07:34


Collective is the debut album by Jazz Plus Ensemble. This 18 piece ensemble, formed of saxes, trumpets, trombones, rhythm section and a vocalist, brings together young musicians from across the UK to reinvent the ‘Big Band’ sound.

The album contains original tunes written by Jazz Plus Ensemble Musical Director Chris Jones, as well as fresh arrangements of Latin chart ‘Esse Passaro Chamado Tempo’, ‘Inhale Exhale’ (NAO) and electronic tunes ‘Illusion of Seclusion’ (Photay) and ‘Monkey Suit’ (Madvillain).

Recorded (and also filmed) in a colourful railway arch in Brixton, London UK in Summer 2019, ‘Collective’ showcases the immense talent and infectious fun of these brilliant young musicians.


released July 24, 2020

Saxes: Daniel Garel, Matthew Sulzmann, John Somerton, Josephine Colter, Felicity Evans
Trumpets: Noah Lawrence, Alexander Astbury, Joey Penaliggon, Alistair Martin
Trombones: David Sear, Chris Jones, Laura Piggford, Luke Bentley
Piano: Matthew Jacobs
Guitar: Ollie Farley
Bass: Jonathan Berry
Drums: Tristan Bacon
Vocals: Laura Paul

Musical Director: Chris Jones
Band Manager: Charles Price

Recorded and Filmed July 2019 at 504 Arch, Brixton
Engineered by Neil Combstock and Michał Cichowlas
Mixed and Mastered by Neil Combstock


all rights reserved



jazz plus productions London, UK

Jazz Plus is a jazz promoter, record label, bookings agency and collective.

The debut album from Jazz Plus Ensemble is out now!

contact / help

Contact jazz plus productions

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Collective, you may also like: